Vegan Chocolate Cake

This delicious cake is moist and fluffy, topped with some fresh berries from your local farmers market, it’s real treat without a lot of guilt! My dear friend Annie gave me this recipe after baking this yummy desert for me while I was visiting. I have made it since I’ve been back home and I can say it is truly amazing.


INGREDIENTS
Cake
1  1/4 cup flour
1/2 or 3/4 cup organic raw sugar*
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup of brewed coffee or green tea
1 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup olive oil
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Chocolate Glaze
1/2 cup sugar
3 tbs vegan butter or coconut oil
2 tbs soy or coconut milk
2 tbs unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tsp vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350 lightly grease 8 x 8 dish or pan. Mix dry ingredients then add wet together and blend well. Pour into baking dish. Bake for 30 min or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 1-2 hours.

For chocolate glaze bring first 4 glaze ingredients to a boil in a small sauce pan. Stir frequently. The reduce heat and simmer 2 min. Stir constantly. Remove from heat and stir for a few more min, then add vanilla and spread onto cake. Add berries if using and let cool for 1 hour. Enjoy!

* you can omit sugar for date paste by placing 1 cup pitted dry dates in a food processor and blend until paste forms. You can also try agave nectar as a sweetener

About Bianca Martinez

I am a graphic designer and artist with a passion for cooking. I care deeply for our beautiful planet and the living beings that dwell within it. I believe that it is important to live with an awareness of what and how we eat, and how our choices effect the world we share. I hope to help others recognize their own power to help heal the world and themselves. We can make a difference with every bite we take!
This entry was posted in dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan Chocolate Cake

  1. cancan says:

    Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this page
    to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

    • Glad you liked this, mmm maybe I should make cake today! I added the word “brewed” coffee or green tea because I actually had a boyfriend put a cup of ground coffee beans in the cake! It was crunchy but still edible! lol! Definitely not something you’d want to eat before bedtime.

Leave a Reply

